Thesis award of the american physical society

And hats off to faculty advisors Alyson Brooks and Matt Buckley. These findings could open the door to novel graphene-based electronic building blocks.

Thesis award of the american physical society

The award, named for distinguished plasma physicist Marshall Rosenbluth whose career included 13 years at the U. Department of Energy's DOE Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory PPPL from torecognizes "exceptional young scientists who have performed original thesis work of outstanding scientific quality and achievement in the area of plasma physics.

Thesis award of the american physical society

These investigations led to a variety of insights, and a new model for turbulence in compressing plasma; the dissertation also applied these insights in a variety of application areas, including inertial-confinement-fusion and astrophysical plasmas.

He earned a B. That led to greater internal compatibility within multiple methods of measurement, which in turn lent additional support for the unusual results previously reported by Weizmann. With this grounding in experiment, this thesis is now positioned to be unusually influential.

Davidovits continues to pursue the compression of turbulent plasma, with applications in inertial-confinement-fusion experiments, Z-pinch experiments, and astrophysical plasmas. Davidovits becomes the seventh graduate of the Program in Plasma Physics to receive the Rosenbluth honor since the APS first awarded it in Students are admitted directly to the program and are granted degrees through the Department of Astrophysical Sciences.

The award announcement appears on the APS website:The American Physical Society (APS) is the world's second largest organization of Society publishes more than a dozen scientific journals, including the prestigious Physical Review and Physical Review Letters, and organizes more than twenty science meetings each is a member society of the American Institute of Physics.

This award recognizes doctoral thesis research of outstanding quality and achievement in any area of experimental, computational, engineering, or theoretical Biological Physics, broadly construed, and to encourage effective written and oral presentation of research results.

Patrick Nason's article, This is Not a Goldmine: Capital, Conservation, and the Politics of Recruitment in the Deep Bismarck Sea, was selected by the Anthropology and Environment Society of the American Anthropological Association (AAA) as a finalist for the Roy A.

Rappaport Student torosgazete.comk will present this paper at the th Annual Meeting of the AAA in San Jose, California in. Seth Davidovits, a graduate of the Program in Plasma Physics in the Princeton University Department of Astrophysical Sciences, has won the Marshall N.

Rosenbluth Outstanding Doctoral. The Australasian Digital Theses (ADT) database ceased operation on 28 March Australian theses are now searchable via the National Library of Australia’s Trove service.. Trove is a free repository of Australian material, including almost a million Australian theses.

Via the 'Help on finding Australian theses' section of the Trove website, you can find out. Yu-Hsin Chen, American Physical Society Marshall N. Rosenbluth Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Award Sanjay Varma, Distinguished Dissertation Fellowship, ECE Department, University of Maryland.

Thesis award of the american physical society
Richard E. Bellman Control Heritage Award | American Automatic Control Council